“I’m only a baby, oh, can’t you see . . .
How important it is that you’re good to me?
I’ll need your help in so many ways
But I promise, in turn, to brighten your days!”

Daizy

It may surprise you to learn that bringing a Pit Bull puppy home,
is no different than bringing any other breed puppy home. Bottom
line? Puppies are all babies! They need lots of love, attention
and gentle human handling. If you have any small children in
your home, be very sure not to permit them to handle the puppy
unsupervised! Part of your job as a dog owner will be to ensure
your puppy’s safety.

Whenever I’ve brought a new (large breed) puppy home, these are
the steps I’ve followed:
Bad Rap

1. Have a puppy-size kennel, a medium and a large size kennel.
(They can be easily stored, one inside the other.) Any puppy
will feel insecure inside a kennel that provides more than
about ten to twelve inches on all sides of the puppy as well as
above his head, when inside their kennel.

2. Place a pad in the bottom of the kennel. Be careful not to use
a pad that can harm your puppy should he chew on it! (I’ve
always used the one inch thick pads with fur on the top side of the
pad. (Of course, I live in Minnesota, so this may not be the best
choice in a year-round warm climate.)

3. Place a small wind-up clock that ticks inside the puppy’s
kennel! It is well-documented that the sound of a clock
ticking is very soothing to a puppy because it simulates the
sound of their mother’s heart-beat. (I’ve always wrapped the
clock with a hand towel or some other small piece of cloth so
that it won’t feel cold to the touch.)

Usually when I’ve brought a new puppy home, I’ve had to get up
for work the next morning. A barking puppy has really not been
an option. What I have found that works very well when bedtime
rolls around at night, is to put the puppy in the kennel, place the
kennel right next to my bed, and if and when the puppy barks, in
a loud, stern voice tone, I say “No!” At the same time that I say
“No”, I rap loudly on the top of the kennel using the heal of my
hand once; in order to create a sound that will be undesirable to
the puppy). I have never experienced a puppy barking inside the
kennel after doing this once!

Your puppy will grow into a dog who will greatly treasure the
privacy of his or her kennel! Whenever my dogs have wanted to
nap, or just get away from commotion and/or noise in the house,
they have retreated to their kennel for privacy and peace.

If you decide to allow your new puppy to sleep in bed with you,
keep in mind that that little puppy is going to grow into a bigger
(the “er” being the operative part of the word) dog!
Just be sure to keep in mind that all medium and large-size dog
breeds use a great deal of space in a bed and they aren’t particularly
fussy about the directions in which they spread out! Because
Dazie was already used to sleeping in bed with my husband when
I entered the picture, we ended-up buying a California King sized
bed so that it would comfortably accommodate all three of us!

Copyright 2015 by JC “Jeanie” Cooke-Fredlund ALL RIGHTS RESERVED
A short chapter from my new book, BAD RAP at http://www.jcfredlund.com

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Paranormal Healing Project

do more than explore...

Shagustus

A blog about personality disorders

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

New Book! "BAD RAP: The Truth about the Tragically Misunderstood Pit Bull"

This Website is the "Worlds Barkinest Best"!! Copyright 2012 - 2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

pitbull luv

pitbull puppy fun - all links all the time!

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

IN HONOR OF ALL THE CHILDREN

"Bless the Beasts and the Children" (Copyright 1976-2016 by JC "Jeanie" Cooke-Fredlund, Author) ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

An Author's Journey

The Transgressive Progression

The New Bullying Prevention

Ethics, Equality and Equal Rights

A Stairway To Fashion

contact: ralucastoica23@gmail.com

Jonathan Roumain

Affiliate Marketing Made Simple

my journey

Wellcome to my blog my name is Beth i live in Wales in the UK its full of green grass and lots of hill oh and sheep haha.i wanted to start a blog so i could write about my life , my journey on finding my self , my kids and anything that is on my mind which could be anything from make up , men , chocolate ANYTHING. I suppose its sort of like a dairy.i dont get to spent as much time as i would like on here but starting from today i am going to make the time even if its for just 10 small moments

Drew Iaconis

Everything on Mindset, Affiliate Marketing & Blogging

MuseBoxx

Space to Create

playwithlifeorg

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

J.J. Anderson's Blog

Someday, what follows will be referred to as “his early works.”

Grady P Brown - Author

Superheroes - Autism - Fantasy - Science Fiction

Author -Carole Parkes

Psychological, thriller, mystery, secrets, betrayal, adoption, romance, poetry, art

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

PITTY CITY DOG BLOG: THE PIT BULL

This Website is the "Worlds Barkinest Best"!! Copyright 2012 - 2017 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

A Narcissist Writes Letters, To Himself

A Hopefully Formerly Depressed Human Vows To Practice Self-Approval

